Catalog Wu Tsang

€29,00
Book published on the occasion of the exhibition visionary company by the artist Wu Tsang at Lafayette Anticipations, from 21 October 2020 to 2 May 2021. This catalogue is the first one entirely devoted to Wu Tsang's latest work, The show is over, .

visionary company is an exhibition that brings together films, performances and sculptures produced by or in collaboration with the artist Wu Tsang. A filmmaker, director, visual artist and performer, her practice is deeply collaborative and most often associated with the performance group she co-founded with artist Tosh Basco in 2016, Moved by the Motion. A ""traveling group"" of multidisciplinary artists, it includes experimental cellist Patrick Belaga, dancer Josh Johnson, electronic musician Asma Maroof and poet Fred Moten.

Wu Tsang's award-winning films combine documentary and narrative techniques with fantastical detours. They focus on hidden histories and marginalized narratives. They also question the act of performing itself. Her projects re-imagine the multiple and shifting racialized and gendered representations we experience in society.

The visionary company exhibition proposes a journey of images, movements and sounds. Creating a dialogue between cinema and poetry, between permanent and ephemeral objects, the works that resonate with the central piece, The show is over, evoke motifs of transparency and opacity, important themes in Tsang's work.

The works manifest themselves in the form of mud and glass, as well as through non-communicative gestures and languages. They question the distinction between visible and visibility, and their intrinsic relationship with violence in its multiple forms; physical, metaphysical, structural and linguistic.

Catalogue Wu Tsang

€29,00
Ouvrage publié à l’occasion de l’exposition visionary company de l’artiste Wu Tsang à Lafayette Anticipations, du 21 octobre 2020 au 2 mai 2021.

Visionary company est une exposition qui rassemble films, performances et sculptures produit·e·s par ou en collaboration avec l’artiste Wu Tsang. Réalisatrice, metteuse en scène, plasticienne et performeuse, sa pratique est profondément collaborative et le plus souvent associée au groupe de performance qu’elle a co-fondé avec l’artiste Tosh Basco en 2016, Moved by the Motion. « Groupe itinérant » d’artistes pluridisciplinaires, il comprend le violoncelliste expérimental Patrick Belaga, le danseur Josh Johnson, la musicienne électronique Asma Maroof et le poète Fred Moten.

Les films de Wu Tsang, maintes fois primés, combinent des techniques documentaires et narratives aux détours fantastiques. Ils s’intéressent à des histoires dissimulées et des récits marginalisés. Ils interrogent aussi l’acte de performer lui-même. Ses projets ré-imaginent les représentations racialisées et genrées, multiples et changeantes, que nous expérimentons dans la société.

L’exposition visionary company propose un parcours d’images, de mouvements et de sons. Créant un dialogue entre cinéma et poésie, entre objets permanents et éphémères, les oeuvres qui résonnent avec la pièce centrale, The show is over,, évoquent les motifs de la transparence et de l’opacité, des thèmes importants dans l’oeuvre de Tsang.

Les oeuvres se manifestent sous forme de boue et de verre, ainsi qu’au travers de gestes et langages non communicatifs. Elles interrogent la distinction entre visible et visibilité, et leur relation intrinsèque avec la violence sous ses multiples formes; physiques, métaphysiques, structurelles et linguistiques.

Auteur•e•s : Tosh Basco, Laura Harris, Fred Moten, Hypatia Vourloumis, Fernando Zalamea